Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Area Designations for 1997 Ground-level Ozone Standards

Bump-Down Requests


On September 15, 2004, EPA reclassified nine of the identified 8-hour ozone nonattainment areas from moderate to the next lower classification—marginal. Follow the links below to read:

Fact sheet about the change
Part 81 revision (PDF) (15 pp, 116KB)

The Clean Air Act authorizes EPA to reclassify an ozone nonattainment area to the next higher or lower classification under certain conditions. The Act requires reclassifications to occur within 90 days of the area's initial classification.

EPA received nine requests for reclassification to a lower category — a "bump down." No areas requested reclassification to a higher category — a "bump up."

Reclassifying a nonattainment area to a lower classification means that the area is expected to achieve clean air sooner. Moderate areas must attain the 1997 national air quality standards for 8-hour ozone no later than June 2010. Marginal areas must attain no later than June 2007.

This page offers links to the requests, supporting documents provided by the states, and documents produced by the EPA relating to each area.

You will need Adobe Reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA's PDF page to learn more.

Cass and Muskegon Counties, Michigan

Detroit, Michigan

Greensboro, North Carolina

Kent and Queen Anne's Counties, Maryland

LaPorte County, Indiana

Lancaster County, Pennsylvania

Memphis, Tennessee-Arkansas

Richmond, Virginia

Jump to main content.