Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact EPA Pacific Southwest

Pacific Southwest, Region 9

Serving: Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Pacific Islands, Tribal Nations

State & Local Partnerships in Region 9

State & Local Partnerships Quick Finder
Waste Partners Home California Pacific Islands
Arizona Nevada Hawaii
Map of EPA Region 9 Arizona California Hawaii Nevada

Hazardous Waste

Each of the four Region 9 states has received authorization from the federal program to carry out certain portions of RCRA. Each state's environmental program is charged with the statutory duty of enforcing the laws of the state relating to hazardous waste management in that state. Click on your state on the map at the right to get in touch with your state's environmental program.

Although EPA has granted these states authority to enforce their own hazardous waste program, EPA retains jurisdiction and authority to initiate an independent enforcement action, pursuant to Section 3008(a) of RCRA. The authority by EPA is established in a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) between EPA and the various state programs.

Solid Waste

Most of the solid waste program is overseen by the states, and compliance is assured through state-issued permits. However, each state must submit an application to EPA in order to receive approval for its program. This approval process assesses whether a state’s program is sufficient to ensure each landfill’s compliance with federal criteria under RCRA Subtitle D. All of Region 9's states have approved programs.

The proper design and operational criteria for municipal solid waste landfills and other solid waste disposal facilities are covered under RCRA Subtitle D. States may impose requirements that are more stringent than the federal requirements.

EPA’s responsibility to the states is to provide information, guidance, and policy and regulations through workshops and publications to help the states promote source reduction, reuse, and recycling of solid waste and safer solid waste disposal.

EPA Region 9 covers Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, the Pacific Islands subject to U.S. law, and approximately 140 Tribal Nations.

Jump to main content.