Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Area Designations for 2008 Ground-level Ozone Standards

Regulatory Actions

You will need Adobe Reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA's PDF page to learn more.

This page contains a chronological listing of all regulatory actions related to designations for the 2008 ozone standards.

Petitions for Reconsideration
On December 14, 2012, EPA denied 29 petitions asking for reconsideration of certain final area designations for the 2008 ozone standards. EPA continues to believe that the technical information supporting our final designations provides a sound basis for our decisions. Four of the petitions also request that EPA stay the designation rule as it applies for a specific area, pending reconsideration. EPA also denied the stay requests. The Administrator sent a letter to each petitioner and supporter explaining the Agency’s denial. The petitions, letters of support, and EPA’s responses are available below.

Final Area Designations for the Chicago Metropolitan Area
May 31, 2012 - EPA completes area designations for the Chicago metropolitan area.

Final Designations for the 2008 National Air Quality Standards for Ozone
April 30, 2012 - EPA is taking the next step to address ozone air quality by issuing final area designations for the 2008 ground-level ozone standards.

Final Approach for Establishing Nonattainment Area Classifications and Attainment Deadlines
April 30, 2012 - Final rule directs key aspects of the implementation of the 2008 National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for ground-level ozone.

Implementing the 2008 National Ambient Air Quality Standards for Ozone: Proposed Nonattainment Area Classifications Approach and Attainment Deadlines
February 7, 2012 - This action proposes a range of ozone levels for each ozone nonattainment area classification as well as the date by which these areas would be required to meet the standards.

Revised EPA Responses
January 31, 2012 - Based on updated ozone air quality data submitted by the state of Illinois, EPA revises its responses to recommendations from Illinois, Indiana, and Wisconsin on area designations for the 2008 ozone air quality standards.

Recommendations for Areas to be Designated “Nonattainment” for the 2008 National Air Quality Standards for Ozone
December 9, 2011 – In response to recommendations from state and local tribal representatives, EPA has sent letters outlining the areas it is considering designating as “attainment” or “nonattainment” for the 2008 ozone standards.

Extension of Deadline for Area Designations for the 2008 Ozone Standards
January 6, 2010 - The Environmental Protection Agency is extending the deadline for designating areas for the March 2008 national ambient air quality standards (NAAQS) for ground-level ozone. Ground-level ozone is a primary component of smog.


Jump to main content.