Jump to main content.

Public Involvement Network News

Note: EPA no longer updates this information, but it may be useful as a reference or resource.

2008 Clean Air Excellence Awards Program

EPA established the Clean Air Excellence Awards Program in February, 2000 as an annual awards program to recognize outstanding and innovative efforts that support progress in achieving clean air.  All submission of entries for the 2008 Clean Air Excellence Awards Program must be postmarked by September 19, 2008 and sent to:  Pat Childers @ childers.pat@epa.gov; telephone 202-564-1082; fax  202-564-1352 or surface mail at USEPA -- Office of Air and Radiation (6102A), 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW., Washington, DC 20004.  For more information, contact Pat or see the Federal Register: August 6, 2008 [Notices], Page 45768-45769.

The Program is open to both public and private entities. Entries are limited to the United States. There are five general award categories: (1) Clean Air Technology; (2) Community Action; (3) Education/Outreach; (4) Regulatory/Policy Innovations; (5) Transportation Efficiency Innovations; and two special awards categories: (1) Thomas W. Zosel Outstanding Individual Achievement Award, and (2) Gregg Cooke Visionary
Program Award. Awards are for recognition only.
Entry Requirements: All applicants are asked to submit their entry on a CAEAP entry form, contained in the CAEAP Entry Package, which may be obtained from the Clean Air Act Advisory Committee (CAAAC) Web site by clicking on Awards Program or by contacting Mr. Pat Childers.  The entry form is a simple, three-part form asking for general information on the applicant and the proposed entry; asking for a description of why the entry is deserving of an award; and requiring information from three (3) independent references for the proposed entry. Applicants should also submit additional supporting documentation as necessary. Specific directions and information on filing an entry form are included in the Entry Package.

Judging and Award Criteria: Judging will be accomplished through a screening process conducted by EPA staff, with input from outside subject experts, as needed. Members of the CAAAC will provide advice to EPA on the entries. The final award decisions will be made by the EPA Assistant Administrator for Air and Radiation. Entries will be judged
using both general criteria and criteria specific to each individual category. There are four (4) general criteria: (1) The entry directly or indirectly (i.e., by encouraging actions) reduces emissions of criteria pollutants or hazardous/toxic air pollutants; (2) The entry
demonstrates innovation and uniqueness; (3) The entry provides a model for others to follow (i.e., it is replicable); and (4) The positive outcomes from the entry are continuing/sustainable. Although not required to win an award, the following general criteria will also be considered in the judging process: (1) The entry has positive effects on other environmental media in addition to air; (2) The entry demonstrates effective collaboration and partnerships; and (3) The individual or organization submitting the entry has effectively measured/evaluated the outcomes of the project, program, technology, etc. As previously mentioned, additional criteria will be used for each individual award category. These criteria are listed in the 2008 Entry Package.

Top of page

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.