Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Early Action Compacts - 1997 Ozone Standard

Where You Live

Information provided for informational purposes onlyNote: EPA no longer updates this information, but it may be useful as a reference or resource.

Through Early Action Compacts, EPA is supporting the efforts of more than 30 communities around the country that have pledged to reduce air pollution ahead of the deadlines under the Clean Air Act. The states with Early Action Compacts are highlighted below. Click on your state or region to learn about Early Action Compacts in your area.

Not available at this time States with Early Action Compacts Maryland Early Action Compact Maryland Early Action Compact Virginia Early Action Compact West Virginia Early Action Compact Tennessee Early Action Compact Louisiana Early Action Compact Arkansas Early Action Compact Oklahoma Early Action Compact Colorado Early Action Compact New Mexico Early Action Compact Texas Early Action Compact Mississippi Early Action Compact Geogia Early Action Compact South Carolina Early Action Compact North Carolina Early Action Compact


  • Memphis Area
  • Denver Area
  • Chattanooga Area
  • Lower Savannah - Augusta
  • Shreveport - Bossier City Area
  • Washington County (west of Washington, DC)
  • Memphis Area
New Mexico
  • San Juan County (Farmington area)
North Carolina
  • Fayetteville (Fayetteville area)
  • Mountain Area of Western NC (including Asheville)
  • Triad Area (Greensboro - Winston Salem - High Point area)
  • Unifour Area (Hickory - Morganton - Lenoir area)
  • Central Oklahoma (Oklahoma City area)
  • Tulsa Area
South Carolina
  • Appalachian (Greenville - Spartanburg - Anderson area)
  • Berkeley - Charleston - Dorchester (Charleston area)
  • Catawba (part of Charlotte - Gastonia - Rock Hill area)
  • Central Midlands (Columbia area)
  • Low Country (Beaufort area)
  • Lower Savannah - Augusta (Aiken - Augusta area)
  • Pee Dee (Florence area)
  • Santee Lynches (Sumter area)
  • Waccamaw (Myrtle Beach area)
  • Chattanooga Area
  • Haywood County (near Memphis)
  • Knoxville Area
  • Lawrence County (near Florence, AL)
  • Memphis Area
  • Nashville Area
  • Putnam County (central TN, between Nashville and Knoxville)
  • Tri-Cities Area (Johnson City - Kingsport - Bristol Area)
  • Austin-San Marcos Area
  • Northeast Texas Area (Longview - Tyler area)
  • San Antonio Area
  • Northern Shenandoah Valley Region (Winchester area)
  • Roanoke Area
West Virginia
  • The Eastern Pan Handle Region (Martinsburg area )


Jump to main content.