Jump to main content.


Appointment of Three New Members to the FIFRA SAP

On Thursday, December 19, 2002, Deputy Administrator Linda Fisher appointed three new members to the FIFRA Scientific Advisory Panel (SAP): Drs. Stuart Handwerger, Steven Heeringa, and Gary Isom. The three appointments were selected from nominations provided by the National Institutes of Health and the National Science Foundation. Dr. Stuart Handwerger is currently a Professor of Pediatrics with the University of Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center. His areas of expertise include cell biology, neurobiology, reproductive endocrinology and the diagnosis and treatment of growth disorders. Dr. Steven Heeringa is currently the Director of the Division of Surveys and Technologies at the University of Michigan Institute for Social Research. His expertise in biostatistics covers national sample design, sample designs for major longitudinal and cross-sectional surveys, procedures for weighting and variance estimation, and the imputation of missing data required in the analysis of sample surveys. Dr. Heeringa has prior experience with the SAP, serving as a consultant through membership on the FQPA Science Review Board (SRB). He has participated in the review of a variety of human health and ecological risk assessment issues. Dr. Gary Isom is currently a Professor of Toxicology with the School of Pharmacy and Pharmacal Sciences at Purdue University. His primary areas of expertise include neurotoxicology and the selective vulnerability of the nervous system to neurotoxic chemicals.

These three scientists will fill the vacancies on the FIFRA SAP created by the expiration of terms served by Drs. Charles Capen, Ronald Kendall, and Herbert Needleman. The three appointees will enhance the FIFRA SAP expertise in clinical pediatrics, biostatistics, and toxicology.

Stephen M. Roberts, Ph.D.
Professor & Program Director
University of Florida
Center for Environmental & Human Toxicology
Building 471, Mowry Road
Gainesville, FL 32611


Stuart Handwerger, M.D.
Director, Division of Endocrinology
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
University of Cincinnati
3333 Burnet Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45229

Dr. Steven G. Heeringa
Director, Division of Surveys & Technology
University of Michigan
Institute for Social Research
P.O. Box 1248
Ann Arbor, MI 48106-1248

Gary E. Isom, Ph.D.
Professor of Toxicology
School of Pharmacy and Pharmacal Sciences
Purdue University
575 Stadium Mall Drive
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2091

Fumio Matsumura, Ph.D.
Institute of Toxicology and Environmental
University of California at Davis
UC Davis
ITEH Building 3791
Davis, CA 95616

Christopher J. Portier, Ph.D.
Director, Environmental Toxicology Program
National Institute of Environmental Health
111 T.W. Alexander Drive, Bldg. 101,
Room A330
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709-12233

Mary Anna Thrall, D.V.M.
Professor, Department of Pathology
College of Veterinary & Biomedical Sciences
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.