


Burial At Sea – Frequently Asked Questions 
 

1. Do I need to apply for a permit or complete any other paperwork before 
performing a burial at sea? 

 
EPA does not require an individual permit, however, you must notify the 
EPA of the burial at sea within 30 days following the event.  In 
addition, the state from which you depart to perform the burial At sea 
may require you to complete some paperwork to meet that state’s 
requirements.  You should check with the state to ensure you have all 
the documentation needed.  If the burial involves incorporation of 
cremated remains in concrete, permit requirements administered by the 
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers may also apply and you should check 
directly with them. 

 
2. Do I need to apply for a permit or complete any other paperwork before 

scattering my relative’s ashes in a lake or river? 
 
Placement of cremated remains in inland lakes and rivers is not subject 
to federal regulation under the Marine Protection, Research, and 
Sanctuaries Act.  States that administer the Clean Water Act National 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permitting program, however, may 
have requirements governing the release of cremated remains into lakes 
and rivers of the state.  You should contact the state environmental or 
health agency to get that specific regulatory/permit information for 
that State. 

 
3. We were planning on scattering my friend’s ashes at the beach by wading 

into the surf; can we do this? 
 

No. The regulations specify that cremated remains may be buried in or 
on ocean waters without regard to the depth, provided that such burial 
takes place no closer than three nautical miles from land. 

 
4. Who is qualified/allowed to perform a Burial At Sea? 

 
The regulations at 40 CFR 229.1 indicate that a general permit for 
burial at sea is granted to all persons subject to the Ocean Dumping 
Act (Title I of the Marine Protection, Research, and Sanctuaries Act), 
as well as all persons owning or operating a vessel or aircraft 
registered in the United States or flying the United States flag and 
all departments, agencies or instrumentalities of the United States. 

 
5. The form provided on your website has an entry for the name and phone 

number of the “Director or Person(s) Responsible for Burial 
Arrangements”; What are the qualifications needed for that person, do 
they have to be a funeral director, or someone licensed? 

 
Federal regulations do not require that the responsible party have 
special credentials. EPA requires the name of the responsible party for 



the public record and in case we need to follow-up with the individual 
should any questions about the burial arise. 
 

6. Where do I send notification of a burial at sea? 
 
You should send the notification within 30 days following the burial at 
sea to the appropriate EPA regional office listed at the end of our 
website (www.epa.gov/region4/water/oceans/burial).  Please ensure that 
the notification is sent to the regional office serving the state from 
which you departed to perform the burial (the states each region serves 
are listed alongside the contact information).  
 

7. What method of transmitting/submitting the report is preferred? 
 
If you perform the burial within ocean waters adjacent to Region 4 
states (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina and 
South Carolina), you may use whichever method (postal service, fax or 
email) that is most convenient to you. 
 
 

8. How do I find a boat to perform a burial at sea? 
 
You may use your own boat or a friend’s or relative’s boat provided it 
is capable of travel in ocean waters.  Otherwise, you may contact 
charter boat operators. There are some that even specialize in 
performing burials at sea, including the burial of a whole body. If the 
deceased is a military veteran, or their spouse, arrangements through 
the U. S. Navy may be possible.  The U. S. Coast Guard will also 
provide such services for the cremated remains of veterans and their 
spouses. 
 

 
9. What are the requirements for preparation and weighting of a casket to 

be used for burial at sea of whole body remains.? 
 
EPA requires that all plastic and fabric materials be removed from the 
casket before burial at sea. EPA recommends that a minimum of six 3-
inch holes be drilled into the casket to facilitate rapid flooding and 
venting of air.  To further aid in rapid sinking, EPA recommends that 
additional weight be added to the casket based upon a four to one ratio 
of the body weight.  For example, a whole body that weighs 150 pounds 
would need an additional 600 pounds to offset the buoyancy of both the 
body and the casket.  Finally, the casket should be wrapped with 
stainless steel chain along both axes.  EPA does not recommend the use 
of shipping straps due to the rapid deterioration of such materials in 
the marine environment.  

http://www.epa.gov/region4/water/oceans/burial

