



## STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

PHIL BRYANT GOVERNOR

## MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

TRUDY D. FISHER, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

July 17, 2012

Ms. Lisa Jackson Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency USEPA Headquarters Ariel Rios Building 1200 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W. Washington, D.C. 20460

Re: Mississippi Petition for Reconsideration of the 2008 8-Hour Ozone Non-attainment Designation for the Northern Portion of DeSoto County, Mississippi

Dear Ms. Jackson:

Attached is the Mississippi Petition for Reconsideration regarding the EPA 2008 8-hour ozone non-attainment designation for the northern portion of DeSoto County, Mississippi. This petition addresses each of the factors listed in the EPA Technical Support Document for the Memphis TN-MS-AR metropolitan area.

For the reasons set forth in the petition, Mississippi requests that EPA reconsider its decision to include the northern portion of DeSoto County in the Memphis non-attainment area. EPA can, within its discretion, recognize the errors made in its designation decision, and more appropriately apply the best and recent scientific data to exclude DeSoto County. Exclusion would be consistent with prior EPA decisions, and would be well supported by the scientific evidence adduced by the Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality. Further, the case-by-case evaluation of the guidance factors supports the exclusion of DeSoto County and would not be inconsistent with the treatment of any other entities within EPA's regulatory control.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely.

Trudy Fisher Executive Director

Attachment

cc: Ms. Gwendolyn Keyes Fleming, Regional Administrator, U.S. EPA Region 4 (w/attachment)