Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


Latest summary of EPA actions to ensure safe drinking water in Montana

Release Date: 05/20/2009
Contact Information: Lisa Kahn, 303 312-6896

(Denver, Colo. – May 20, 2009) The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency issued 12 administrative orders and settled 2 penalty actions in Montana from October 1, 2008 through March 31, 2009, under the Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA).

Although the State of Montana is authorized to implement the Safe Drinking Water Act, EPA can take federal action against public water systems in the state that violate the SDWA and its regulations. EPA and Montana have developed a joint work-share arrangement whereby EPA provides federal assistance with selected enforcement cases. EPA and Montana work together to identify the public water systems against which EPA will take federal action.

An administrative order requires the public water system to comply with the drinking water regulations and includes action items for returning to compliance.

EPA issued administrative orders to the following Montana public water systems:

Bearcreek Municipal Water System, Bearcreek
Beaverhead Campground South, Billings
Gramma Ruby’s Café, Hobson
LDS Church Ennis Water System, Helena
Madison County Golf Association, Ennis
Mountain Sky Guest Ranch, Helena
Pryor Creek Bar, Shepherd
Real Life Christian Center, Bozeman
Shady Nook Trailer Court, Dillon
Thriftway Super Stop, Butte
Turah Pines Bar, Turah
Valley Grove Subdivision, Bozeman

EPA issues a penalty action when a public water system violates an administrative order. The penalty amount is based on a combination of the seriousness of the violations and the size of the population at risk, among other factors.

EPA settled penalty actions for the following public water systems with the penalty amount noted:

Craig Bar, Wolf Creek
Penalty Amount: $1,002.47

The Hitching Post, Silverbow County
Penalty Amount: $6,250.00

EPA Region 8 oversees the protection of public health and the environment in Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming.