Contact Us


All News Releases By Date



Release Date: 11/10/94
Contact Information:



In an effort to expand environmental education about the protection of tribal lands, EPA announced that 46 students from 33 universities and colleges across the United States have been selected winners in the third national competition for the Tribal Lands Environmental Science Scholarships. Five of the winners are receiving scholarships for the third year; nine are receiving scholarships for the second year. The awards were made possible by an EPA grant of $l82,000 to the American Indian Science and Engineering Society (AISES) of Boulder, Colo., which makes the final selection of winners. The awards are expected to be be presented at the l6th annual national conference of AISES on Nov. 11 in San Jose, Calif.

Scholarship eligibility includes full time college or university junior, senior or graduate students who major in one of a number of environmental sciences. Applicants qualify on the basis of academic achievement, knowledge of Indian culture, commitment to improving the environment of Indian lands, relevant work experience and character.

The recipients will receive $4,000 each to be used at a college or university of choice for study in an environmental science curriculum during the l994-95 academic year. Efforts are made to retain scholarship awardees in the program if they maintain their grade point average (2.5 minimum). Scholarship winners must agree to work next summer on an Indian reservation or at one of EPA's offices, if an environmental protection position is offered.

AISES has been awarding scholarships to Indian students for the past 11 years, has chapters on the campuses of many colleges and universities, conducts summer camps for Indian students and assists Indian graduates in finding jobs. Because scholarship awardees must be pursuing education that will lead to environ-mental protection of tribal lands, EPA believes that this scholarship program potentially can increase the number of environmental scientists attracted to full time employment at EPA and on Indian lands after graduation. EPA's scholarship program was created by the Office of Pesticide Programs in l99l. In the first year grant (l992-93 academic year) EPA provided a grant of $l20,000 and AISES selected 27 winners; last year 33 scholarships were awarded through a grant of $158,000 (93-94). EPA expects to provide a grant of over $250,000 for the l995-96 school year. In l992 the program was assumed by the Environmental Education Division in EPA's Office of Communications, Education and Public Affairs.

The following lists of scholarship winners includes the home State, tribal affiliation, where appropriate, and the school each is attending.

Third year scholarship recipients:

Brandon Canard, Oklahoma, Creek, Florida State U. Paul Griffen, Kentucky, Comanche, Murray State U., Daniel Oros, California, Yaqui, Humbolt State, California Jonathan Pyatskowit, Wisconsin, Menominee, Cornell U., N.Y. Roseanne Sanchez, Minnesota, Pueblo, U. of Wisconsin-Superior

Second year scholarship recipients:

Angela Loman, Oklahoma, Chickasaw, U. of Oklahoma Karen Medville, New York, Cherokee, Cornell U., N.Y. Richard Miranda, California, Ohlone, Humbolt State, California Milford Muskett, New Mexico, Navajo, U. of Wisconsin Kathrine Richardson, Washington, U. of Oregon Deborah Saliego, Arizona, Navajo, Arizona State U. Robin Slate, Oregon, Alaskan Indian Tlingit Nation, Ore. State U. Russell Stands Overbull, Montana, Crow, Colorado School of Mines Shaharra Usnick, Colorado, Cherokee/Comanche, U. of Colorado

First year scholarship recipients:

Elisa Arviso, New Mexico, Navajo, U. of Arizona Karen Beard, California, Yale U., Conn. Labertta Cano, Colorado, Navajo, U. of Colorado-Denver Nelson Capitan, New Mexico, U. of New Mexico Howard Carpenter, California, Aleut, U. of California, Berkeley John Chubb, North Dakota Mohawk, State U. of New York Dale Clark, Washington, Makah, The Evergreen State College, Wash. Cathy Covington, Washington, Colville, U. of Idaho Jessie Cravens, Washington, Western Washington U. Tom Douglas, Virginia, Lumbee, Old Dominion U., Va. Thomas Elkins, Oklahoma, Cherokee, Northeastern State U., Okl. Tonya Felix, Oklahoma, Cherokee, Hendrix College, Ark. Erin Fernandez, California, Hawaiian, Humbolt State U., Calif. Trent Garrison, Oklahoma, Cherokee, U. of Oklahoma-Norman Janet Harris, North Carolina, Lumbee, Pembroke State U., N.C. Veronica Herkshan, Idaho, Shoshone/Bannock, Boise State U., Idaho Taimi Hoag, Florida, Ottowa/Seneca, Florida State U. Leigh Hubbard III, Arizona, Navajo, Dartmouth College, N.H. Laurel James, Washington, Yakoma, U. of Washington Glenna Lee, Arizona, Navajo, U. of Nevada-Las Vegas Maureen Lesky, New Mexico, Choctow/Kiowa, San Jose State U., Calif. Mary Loftfield, Washington, Western Washington U. Tamara Long, Arizona, Navajo, Northern Arizona U. Michiko Mares, California, Cherokee, Humbolt State U., Calif. Claudia Mitchell, New Mexico Pubelo, Fort Lewis College, Colo. Jessica Ross, California, Isage/Choctaw, U. of Idaho Randolph Runs After, South Dakota, Sioux, U. of Hawaii Angela Sondenaa, Idaho, Confederated Tribes of Siletz, U. of Idaho Bernadette Tsosie, New Mexico, Navajo, New Mexico Inst. of Mining & Tech. Peter Wakeland, Oregon, Grande Ronde, Oregon State U. Dawn White, Montana, Lac Courte Oreilles, College of Great Falls, Mont. Sawar Young, California, Yurok/Karuk, Humbolt State U., Calif.

For more information on the scholarships, contact Ms. Sonya Sandoval or Roberta Manuelito (303-492-8658) at AISES, l630 30th St., Suite 301, Boulder, Colo. 80301.