Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


EPA Administrator Appoints Advisors to Lead Science Panels

Release Date: 10/15/2004
Contact Information:

Contact: Rich Hood 202-564-4355 /

(Washington, D.C.– October 15, 2004) Administrator Mike Leavitt today announces the appointments of Dr. M. Granger Morgan as chair of the EPA Science Advisory Board (SAB) and Dr. Rogene Henderson as chair of the Clean Air Scientific Advisory Committee (CASAC). The chairs will serve two-year terms.

Morgan, University and Lord Chair Professor in Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University, brings extensive research and experience in integrating environmental science, technology, and public policy. Henderson, Director of Lovelace Respiratory Symposium of the Lovelace Respiratory Research Institute, is a renowned expert on the human health effects of air pollutants.

Leavitt praised Dr. William H. Glaze, Professor at Oregon Health and Science University, and Dr. Phil Hopke, Bayard D. Clarkson Distinguished Professor at Clarkson University, for their distinguished public service in the past four years as chair of the SAB and CASAC, respectively.

“Doing the right science and the science right is the foundation of EPA’s work to protect public health and the environment. I welcome the new SAB and CASAC leadership in providing sound advice on some of the most high profile and tough scientific issues facing the Agency,” said Leavitt.

The SAB is a chartered Federal Advisory Committee composed of external scientists and engineers. EPA solicits nominations for members to serve on the SAB and its committees yearly. More information about the SAB can be found on: