Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


TOMORROW: EPA Administrator to Recognize Winners of National Award for Smart Growth Achievement

Release Date: 02/04/2014
Contact Information: Enesta Jones,, 202-564-7873, 202-564-4355

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Gina McCarthy will recognize the winners of the National Award for Smart Growth Achievement in a ceremony on Wednesday, February 5. The award recognizes and supports communities that use innovative policies and strategies to develop in ways that protect the environment, provide housing and transportation choices, and strengthen their economies.

Gina McCarthy, Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Gwen Keyes-Fleming, Chief of Staff, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Kasim Reed, Mayor of Atlanta
Roy D. Buol, Mayor of Dubuque James Erb, Mayor of Charles City
Steve Hansen, City Councilman of Sacramento
Randy Blankhorn, Executive Director of the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning

WHAT: National Award for Smart Growth Achievement ceremony

WHEN: Wed., Feb. 5, at 11 a.m. EST

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Rachel Carson Green Room, William Jefferson Clinton South
1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20004

The ceremony will feature remarks by EPA Administrator Gina McCarthy and representatives of the communities receiving awards, and a video presentation of each of the winning projects. The ceremony will be followed by a panel discussion and reception on Capitol Hill hosted by Smart Growth America and Congresswoman Doris Matsui of Sacramento, California. The EPA administrator will not be part of the discussion.

The EPA building is located above the Federal Triangle Metro station on the Blue and Orange lines. Media should arrive no later than 10:30 to go through security. Please RSVP to attend the ceremony by going here: