Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


EPA: 35 Midwest Communities take steps to reduce their Carbon Footprints

Release Date: 02/10/2010
Contact Information: Phillippa Cannon, (312) 353-6218

No. 10-OPA013

CHICAGO (Feb. 10, 2010) -- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region 5 announced today that 35 midwest communities have joined its Community Climate Change Initiative and committed to take action to reduce their town’s carbon footprint.

“Local governments play a critical role in addressing climate change,” said Cheryl Newton, EPA regional Air Division director. "Reducing greenhouse gases will not only help the environment, it will also help communities and citizens reduce waste and improve their bottom line by saving on energy costs."

In Illinois, sixteen communities -- Alton, Bellwood, Carbondale, Des Plaines, Evanston, Evergreen Park, Gilberts, Hoffman Estates, Niles, Oak Park, Orland Park, Rock Island, Schaumburg, Urbana, Warrenville and Westmont – have joined. In Indiana, four communities -- Fort Wayne, Indianapolis, Michigan City and West Lafayette – have joined. Two Michigan communities -- Delta Township and Kalamazoo – have joined. Seven Minnesota communities -- Apple Valley, Falcon Heights, Northfield, Oakdale, Roseville, Sauk Rapids and St. Cloud – have joined. Four Ohio communities -- Cleveland, Columbus, East Palestine and Rittman – have joined. And two Wisconsin communities -- Bayfield and Waukesha – have joined.

EPA Region 5 launched the Community Climate Change Initiative in 2009, calling on communities to join one of six EPA climate change partnership programs: Energy Star Challenge, WasteWise, WaterSense, Combined Heat and Power, Green Power Partnership, and Landfill Methane Outreach Program.

These programs offer free resources to help communities address climate change while protecting human health and the environment, enhancing local economies, and reducing energy costs.

For a list of communities by state and for more information on Region 5's Community Climate Change Initiative: