Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


EPA Honors Virginia Agency as Water Efficiency Leader

Release Date: 10/08/2009
Contact Information: Donna Heron, 215-814-5113;

WASHINGTON (October 8, 2009) -- The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has named James City Service Authority, James City, Va., as the national small utility WaterSense partner of the year for 2009.

James City Service Authority has shown that even small utility companies can set an example by demonstrating how collaboration and commitment to water efficiency can result in major savings for customers,” said William C. Early, acting administrator, of EPA’s mid-Atlantic region. “By working to promote WaterSense labeled products and other water-efficient behaviors, they are helping residents save tremendously on water, energy and money on their utility bills.”

James City Service Authority helped consumers in coastal Virginia save water and money by collaborating with the James City County Citizens’ Coali­tion, a local citizens coalition to encourage local plumbers and retailers to provide discounts on the sale and installation of WaterSense labeled toilets in addition to offering rebates on WaterSense labeled products.

Serving approximately 46,000 people, the authority is the only water utility in the Hampton Roads region of Virginia to offer a water conservation rebate program. With rebates on WaterSense labeled products, such as toilets, rain sensors, rain barrels and on demand hot water recirculators, the authority provides one of the widest varieties of re­bates in southeast Virginia. The utility uses this program and accompanying educational materials to steer consumers toward WaterSense products.

To further educate its customers about outdoor water efficiency the authority also established its own Let’s Be Water Smart program, a joint effort by 35 builders, developers, contractors, irriga­tion specialists, landscape designers, and landscap­ers working together to rein in outdoor water use.

More information on WaterSense Partner of the Year award winners: