Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


Ceremony Set to Present Environmental Excellence Awards to Texas Winners

Release Date: 10/19/1998
Contact Information: For more information contact the Office of External Affairs at (214) 665-2200.

     The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced that Regional Administrator Gregg Cooke will present 21 Environmental Excellence awards in an Austin ceremony. Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission Executive Director Jeff Saitas also will participate in the ceremony. Recipients will receive plaques, Environmental Excellence flags and lapel pins.

WHEN:    2 p.m., Wednesday, October 21, 1998

WHERE:   Capitol Extension Auditorium, Texas State Capitol

   Fort Bend County Municipal Utility District #30
   City of Fort Worth Village Creek Wastewater Treatment Plant (2 awards)
   City of Fort Worth
   Aqua Water Supply Corporation, Bastrop
   Ramey Water Supply Corporation, Mineola
   City of Georgetown
   Trinity River Authority, Trinity County Regional Water Supply System
   City of Grapevine
   City of Grapevine Earthworks Project
   Texas Forestry Museum
   Dr. Elizabeth Smith, Center for Coastal Studies, Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi
   Bill Baker, Houston Lighting and Power
   City of Dallas
   Nabisco Biscuit Co., Houston
   Amoco Chemical Co., Alvin
   Department of Agricultural Services, Texas A&M University, Commerce
   Kasper Wire Works, Shiner
   Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission (2 awards)
   Project FAST (Future American Scientists and Technologists)          
      Dr. Mamie L. McKnight, Project FAST Coordinator
      Dallas County Community Colleges
      Dallas Public Schools
         Colonial Leaning Center
         James Madison High School
         J.W. Ray Learning Center
      Wilmer Hutchins Independent School District
      University of Texas at Dallas
      Dallas Arboretum
      Dallas World Aquarium
      Dallas Area Rapid Transit
      Alcatel Network Systems
      American Airlines
      Texas Instruments