Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


EPA Selects 37 New Members for Performance Track Program

Release Date: 03/06/2003
Contact Information:

Teresa Libera 202-564-7873/

(03/06/03) Administrator Christie Whitman recognized 37 new members of the Performance Track program. The program is a voluntary partnership program with public and private entities that go beyond compliance with environmental regulations and commit to continual environmental improvement over the next three years. Facilities recognized in this program consistently meet their legal requirements, implement environmental management systems, voluntarily achieve environmental improvements beyond compliance, and report on progress. Launched in June 2000, Performance Track now has quickly grown and now has a total of 304 members. This round of Performance Track members includes the first port facility, the Port of Houston; the first jet manufacturer, Dassault Falcon Jet Corp; and the first concrete manufacturing facility, Lafarge Alpharetta Ready Mix. EPA also welcomes seven small businesses, one federal facility and additional facilities from already-represented organizations, such as International Paper, Baxter International Inc., Dupont, Arizona Chemical, Dana Spicer, Lockheed Martin, Sony, Bridgestone-Firestone, Motorola, Pfizer, 3M and NASA. Individual facilities commit to specific environmental improvements, examples of this include: a 64 percent reduction in Volatile Organic Compound emissions by 2005; a 50 percent reduction in water use that will save 20 million gallons per year; and recycling and reduced energy consumption commitments. New Performance Track Members are: Alabama’s Jefferson County General Services Division; Arizona’s Motorola GTSS; Arkansas Baxter Healthcare Corp. and Dassault Falcon Jet Corp. California’s Baxter Healthcare Corp., Medication Delivery, and NASA Ames Research Center; Colorado’s Ball Metal Beverage Container Corp.; Florida’s Arizona Chemical, and Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control; Georgia’s Alpharetta Ready Mix Concrete Plant; Griffin Power Systems-Caterpillar, and Interface Flooring Systems; Illinois’ Airtex Products, Bridgestone, and Firestone Off Road Tire Co.; Iowa’s EMCO Enterprises Inc.; Kentucky’s Dana Spicer Heavy Axle and Brake Division; Maine’s International Paper’s Bucksport Mill; Massachusetts’ Gillette Andover Manufacturing Center’ Mississippi’s Baxter Healthcare; Nebraska’s 3M Valley and Pfizer; New Jersey’s Huntsman Polyurethanes; Ohio’s Johnson Diversey Sharonville Plant, Matsushita Display Devices Company of America, and Pro-Tec Coating Co.; Oregon’s SunRidge Lumber Co.; Texas’ Barbours Cut Container Terminal, Inspectorate America, Louisiana Pacific Oriented Strand Board, Motorola Inc/Ft. Worth, Motorola Inc./Oak Hill, Turning Basin Terminal Central Maintenance Facility; Virginia’s DuPont Front Royal; Washington’s Columbia Vista Corp.; Puerto Rico’s Baxter Fenwal Division, Baxter Fenwal Division, and Baxter Healthcare Corp. of Puerto Rico.