Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


Leading Innovators Recognized at Annual Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Awards

Release Date: 06/30/2004
Contact Information:

David Deegan, 202-564-7839 /

(06/30/04) Leading researchers and industrial innovators were recognized on June 28 for significant contributions in advancing pollution prevention and industrial ecology at the 2004 Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Awards ceremony in Washington, D.C. The Presidential-rank awards are given to select individuals and organizations that have made dramatic science contributions with identifiable applications that result in less pollution and/or waste in a manufacturing process. The 2004 Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge awards were bestowed on Professors Charles A. Eckert and Charles L. Liotta, both of the Georgia Institute of Technology; Jeneil Biosurfactant Company of Saukville, WI and Lutz, FL; Bristol-Myers Squibb Company of Syracuse, NY and Princeton, NJ; Buckman Laboratories International of Memphis, TN; and Engelhard Corporation of Beachwood, OH, Louisville, KY, and Iselin, NJ. EPA’s Green Chemistry Challenge promotes research to develop less-toxic alternatives to existing technologies, and to reduce or eliminate waste generation in industrial production. An independent panel of technical experts selected the five winners after reviewing more than 80 nominations for this recognition. The awards were given in five categories: Academic, Small Business, Alternative Synthetic Pathways, Alternative Reaction Conditions and Designing Safer Chemicals. More information on the Presidential Green Chemistry Awards is available at: .