Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


8 Facilities in the Southeast Commit to Environmental Improvements Beyond Regulatory Requirements

Release Date: 03/08/2007
Contact Information: Laura Niles, (404) 562-8353,

(ATLANTA – March 8, 2007) Eight facilities in the Southeast have made a commitment to environmental improvement beyond current regulatory requirements. These facilities join 47 others throughout the nation as new members in the National Environmental Performance Track program.

The eight new facilities to join Performance Track in the Southeast are:

Stanley Works-Concord, N.C.;
Oak Ridge National Laboratory – U.S. DOE -Oak Ridge, Tenn.;
Louisiana Pacific-Hanceville, Ala.;
Washington Group International – Anniston Chemical Demilitarization Facility-Anniston, Ala.;
Shaw Plant Z-Cartersville, Ga.;
Shaw Plant 15-Cartersville, Ga.;
Shaw Plant 13-Cartersville, Ga.; and
Fort Benning-Fort Benning, Ga.

The partnership program recognizes facilities that set three-year goals for continuous improvements in environmental performance beyond their legal requirements, have internal systems in place to manage their environmental impacts, engage in local outreach about their performance and publicly report results. Performance Track facilities must meet all environmental regulatory requirements and make additional commitments to the environment.

Since the 2000 inception of this facility-based rather than company-based program, Performance Track membership has grown to 470 members in 46 states and Puerto Rico, and those members have made 1,500 commitments to benefit the environment in both regulated and unregulated areas. To date, Performance Track members have collectively reduced their water use by 3.5 billion gallons, reduced their greenhouse gas emissions by 88,000 metric tons of carbon dioxide equivalent, and conserved more than 14,000 acres of land while helping to protect their local and national environment.

Information on the National Environmental Performance Track program:

Information on new Performance Track members: