Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


EPA redesignates 8 Detroit-Ann Arbor area counties to attainment of ozone standard

Release Date: 06/18/2009
Contact Information: William Omohundro, 312-353-8254,

No. 09-OPA112

(Chicago - June 18, 2009) U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region 5 announced today it has approved a request by the state of Michigan to redesignate Lenawee, Livingston, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, St. Clair, Washtenaw and Wayne counties in the Detroit-Ann Arbor area to attainment of the national health-based eight-hour outdoor air quality standard for ozone (smog).

EPA said complete, quality-assured, outdoor air monitoring data from the counties for 2006, 2007 and 2008 meet the standard.

The Agency also approved the state plan to continue to meet the eight-hour health-based ozone standard through 2020 and the motor vehicle emissions budgets included in the plan.

The action will soon be published in the Federal Register. The redesignation becomes effective upon publication.

Ground-level ozone is commonly referred to as smog. Smog is formed when a mixture of pollutants react on warm, sunny days. The pollutants are released from cars, factories and a wide variety of other sources. Smog can cause respiratory problems, including coughing, wheezing, shortness of breath and chest pain.

# # #