Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


EPA Approves Hurricane-Related Waivers for District of Columbia, Maryland, Virginia

Release Date: 09/18/2008
Contact Information: Dave Ryan, 202-564-4355 /

(9/18/08) As a result of the disruption in the supply of fuel caused by Hurricanes Gustav and Ike, EPA has exercised its authority under the Clean Air Act to temporarily waive reformulated gasoline (RFG) requirements and allow the sale of conventional gasoline (CG) in all the District of Columbia and parts of Maryland. Today’s waiver also extends the current RFG waiver in Virginia. These waivers will allow greater flexibility for the fuel distribution system to support an adequate supply of gasoline.

The waiver is effective today and will continue through Oct. 7. Retail outlets and wholesalers that receive CG under this waiver may continue selling or dispensing this fuel after Oct. 7 until their supplies are depleted.

The waivers were granted today by EPA in coordination with the Department of Energy (DOE), at the request of Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. EPA Administrator Stephen L. Johnson determined that extreme and unusual supply circumstances exist, which are likely to result in a shortage of gasoline compliant with federal regulations.

As required by law, EPA evaluated the situation and determined that granting short-term waivers was consistent with the public interest.

Specific waiver summaries by jurisdiction follow:

District of Columbia. The waiver is effective in all of the District of Columbia.

Maryland. The waiver is effective in the following counties: Anne Arundel, Baltimore (City and County), Calvert, Carroll, Charles, Cecil, Frederick, Harford, Howard, Kent, Montgomery, Prince George’s and Queen Anne’s (the “RFG Covered Areas in Maryland”).

Virginia. On Sept. 12, 2008, EPA waived RFG requirements in the “RFG Covered Areas in Virginia,” effective through Sept. 26, 2008. In Virginia, today’s announced waiver is effective beginning Sept. 27, 2008 for the same areas: Alexandria; Arlington County; Fairfax; Fairfax County; Falls Church; Loudoun County; Manassas; Manassas Park; Prince William County; Stafford County; Charles City County; Chesterfield County; Colonial Heights; Hanover County; Henrico County; Hopewell; Richmond; Chesapeake; Hampton; James City County; Newport News; Norfolk; Poquoson; Portsmouth; Suffolk; Virginia Beach; Williamsburg; and York County.

More information: