Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


Grantees Receive $6.3 Million to Boost Property Revitalization

Release Date: 06/12/2008
Contact Information: Roxanne Smith, (202) 564-4355 /

(Washington, D.C. - June 12, 2008) Sixteen state or local governments are receiving supplemental grants from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to help return problem properties to productive use. More than $6.3 million is being awarded to brownfields cleanup revolving loan fund grantees. Brownfields are sites where expansion, redevelopment, or reuse may be complicated by the presence or potential presence of a hazardous substance, pollutant, or contaminant.

“Thanks to these brownfields grants, EPA is planting the seeds for environmental and economic success,” said EPA Administrator Stephen L. Johnson. “These brownfields grants will help nurture problem properties into sources of local pride.”

In January 2002, President Bush signed the Small Business Liability Relief and Brownfields Revitalization Act, which authorizes annual funding for brownfields grants. EPA’s brownfields program provides funding to state, local and tribal governments to make low interest loans and subgrants that fund cleanup activities at brownfields sites. Since 1997, grant recipients have executed 135 loans and awarded 26 subgrants to support brownfields cleanup totaling more than $68 million. The loan funds have leveraged more than $1.7 billion in public and private cleanup and redevelopment investment.

More information on brownfields cleanup revolving loan fund pilots and grants:

General information on EPA’s Brownfields program:

The following state and local governments have been selected to receive the brownfields supplemental money.

City of Emeryville ($500,000)

City of Aurora ($350,000)

City of Bridgeport ($500,000)

County of Hillsborough ($300,000)
Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council ($350,000)

City of Rockford ($500,000)

City of South Bend ($400,000)

City of Bath ($400,000)
City of Brewer ($300,000)

City of Monroe ($250,000)

Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development ($400,000)

St. Louis Development Corporation ($500,000)

City of Missoula ($400,000)

New Hampshire
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services ($500,000)

County of Bucks ($200,000)

City of Milwaukee ($500,000)