Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


Awards Presented for Environmental Excellence in Louisiana

Release Date: 11/12/1998
Contact Information: For more information contact the Office of External Affairs at (214) 665-2200.

       During a November 12 ceremony in the Capitol Building, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) presented 13 Regional Administrator's Environmental Excellence Awards to 30 recipients.

       "I'm gratified to present these awards. They are a wonderful reminder of the many people and organizations who are working to protect our environment and the public health. It's nice to be able to recognize a few very important contributions today," EPA Regional Compliance Assurance and Enforcement Deputy Director Barbara Greenfield said.

       Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality Secretary Dale Givens also participated in the ceremony. He said, "It's terrific to be able to recognize Louisiana individuals and companies who have worked so hard in achieving the goal of a clean environment."

       During the ceremony winners were given plaques, Environmental Excellence flags and Environmental Excellence pins.

       A listing of awards, categories and winners follows:

Public Water Supply  
       City of Mandeville

Wellhead Protection
       Calcasieu Water Works District #1, Lake Charles

Underground Injection Control
       Monsanto Company, Luling
       CYTEC Industries Inc., Westwego

Nonpoint Source Management
       Linda Calvert, The Green Project

Air Compliance
       Pioneer Chemical Company, St. Gabriel

Pollution Prevention
       CYTEC Industries Inc., Westwego Recycling
       Occidental Chemical Company, Convent

Environmental Education
       Office of Forestry, Louisiana Department of Agriculture & Forestry
       Lake Pontchartrain Basin Foundation, Metairie
       Turtle Cove Environmental Research Station, Southern Louisiana University-Hammond

Partnership for Environmental Excellence
       Environmental Education Roundtable, Louisiana Department of Environmental
       Tensas River Watershed, Technical Steering Committee