Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


EPA Announces 12th Annual Clean Air Excellence Awards /Communities, public health and U.S. economy benefit from winners’ work on clean air initiatives

Release Date: 09/19/2012
Contact Information: Molly Hooven,, 202-564-2313, 202-564-4355

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) today is presenting the 12th annual Clean Air Excellence Awards honoring 11 projects and companies from across the United States for their work on clean air initiatives. The awards recognize innovative programs that protect Americans' health and the environment, educate the public, serve their communities and stimulate the economy.

“The 42-year history of the Clean Air Act is all about meeting challenges through commitment and innovation,” said Gina McCarthy, EPA Assistant Administrator for the Office of Air and Radiation. “The contributions of this year’s award winners are continuing the Clean Air Act’s progress in benefiting public health, our communities and the economy.”

From providing better access to electric vehicles and charging stations to creating a classroom toolkit promoting strategies to improve air quality to developing a real-time air monitoring notification system, award winners demonstrate a commitment to improving the air that we breathe. This year’s winners include:

Clean Air Technology
ReNew Air Scrubber Technology, Diversey Incorporated, Racine, WI.

Community Action
Frazier Courtyard Homes, Dallas Area Habitat for Humanity, Dallas, Texas
Electric Vehicle Ecosystem Pilot Project, City and County of Greenville, S.C.
Free Zoo & Trolley Too!, Rhode Island Public Transit Authority, Providence, R.I.

Education Outreach
Conservation and Climate Change Challenge, Broward County, Fla.
InnerTribal Beat, Spokane Tribal Air Quality Program and KYRS Community Radio, Spokane, Wash.

Regulation/Policy Innovations
Rapid Response Notification System, Maricopa County Air Quality Department, Maricopa County, Ariz.
GHG Emissions Reduction Projects, Frito-Lay, Incorporated-Beloit, Beloit, Wis.

Transportation Efficiency Innovations
Leadership in Reducing Ocean-going vessel Emissions, Maersk Line/Maersk Agency USA, Charlotte, N.C.
Climate Initiatives Program, Metropolitan Transportation Commission of San Francisco Bay Area, San Francisco, Calif.

Gregg Cooke Visionary Program Award
SC Johnson Global Sustainability Program, SC Johnson, Racine, Wis.

The awards program, established in 2000 at the recommendation of the Clean Air Act Advisory Committee, annually recognizes entries that help reduce air pollution, provide a model for others to follow and offer innovative, sustainable outcomes. Entries are judged by EPA and the Clean Air Act Advisory committee, and winners are recognized with a certificate at an awards ceremony in Washington D.C.

More on this year’s award winners: