Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


EPA Orders 79 Municipalities to Improve Stormwater Management -Benefits Local Streams; Chesapeake Bay-

Release Date: 04/23/2010
Contact Information: David Sternberg, 215-814-5548

(PHILADELPHIA) April 23, 2010 - The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency today announced it has sent orders to 79 municipalities in south central Pennsylvania requiring improvements to their Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) programs.

The orders require the cited municipalities to correct problems with their respective MS4 programs and come into compliance with their Clean Water Act permits. MS4s are publicly owned drainage systems, including storm drains, pipes, and ditches, designed to collect and convey stormwater runoff in urbanized areas.

“These actions are critical since improperly managed stormwater can wash harmful pollutants into local streams and rivers,” said Shawn M. Garvin, Regional Administrator for EPA’s mid-Atlantic region. “EPA is committed to gaining compliance with these municipalities for the health of local waterways in Pennsylvania and the Chesapeake Bay.”

Urbanized areas contain large portions of impervious surfaces such as roads, rooftops and parking lots that channel stormwater directly into local streams, rivers, and other water bodies. Improperly managed stormwater runoff from urbanized areas can damage streams, cause significant erosion, and carry excessive nutrients, sediment, toxic metals, volatile organic compounds, and other pollutants downstream.

EPA will provide compliance information to municipalities receiving these orders, and will host a one-day conference on May 5 in Harrisburg, Pa., to discuss the MS4 requirements of the Clean Water Act.

See attached list of Municipalities receiving the orders.

For more information about Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4s) visit
Allegheny TownshipBlair
Alsace TownshipBerks
Blair CountyBlair
Blair TownshipBlair
Breaknock Township (Berks/Denver)Lancaster
Camp Hill BoroughCumberland
City Of HarrisburgDauphin
Colebrookdale TownshipBerks
Cornwall Borough Lebanon
Conewago Township Dauphin
Borough Of ChambersburgFranklin
Dauphin CountyDauphin
Dover TownshipYork
East Petersburg Borough Lancaster
East Hempfield TownshipLancaster
East Penns Borough TownshipCumberland
Ephrata TownshipLancaster
Fairview TownshipYork
Fleetwood BoroughBerks
Franklin TownshipYork
Frankstown TownshipBlair
Freedom Township Blair
Highspire BoroughDauphin
Jacobus BoroughYork
Jackson TownshipYork
Jonestown BoroughLebanon
Kenhorst BoroughBerks
Lancaster CityLancaster
Lancaster TownshipLancaster
Lebanon CityLebanon
Lebanon CountyLebanon
Leesport BoroughBerks
Lemoyne BoroughCumberland
Londonderry TownshipDauphin
Lower Alsace TownshipBerks
Lower Heidelberg TownshipBerks
Logan TownshipBlair
Loganville BoroughYork
Lower Paxton Township Dauphin
Manheim BoroughLancaster
Manor TownshipLancaster
Marietta BoroughLancaster
Manchester BoroughYork
Manchester TownshipYork
Marion TownshipBerks
Middleton BoroughDauphin
Monroe TownshipCumberland
Mountville BoroughLancaster
New Cumberland BoroughCumberland
North Londonderry TownshipLebanon
North Cornwall TownshipLebanon
North Lebanon TownshipLebanon
Paxtang BoroughDauphin
Penbrook BoroughDauphin
Red Lion Borough York
Robeson TownshipBerks
Robesonia BoroughBerks
Shiremanstown Borough Cumberland
Sinking Spring BoroughBerks
South Hanover TownshipDauphin
South Lebanon TownshipLebanon
Spring Garden TownshipYork
St Lawrence BoroughBerks
South Hiedelberg Township Berks
Swatara Township Dauphin
Swatara Township Lebanon
Upperleacock TownshipLancaster
West Hanover TownshipDauphin
West Lebanon TownshipLebanon
West York BoroughYork
Windsor Borough York
Windsor Township York
Womelsdorf BoroughBerks
Wormleysburg BoroughCumberland
West Cocalico TownshipLancaster
York City York
York County York
Yoe BoroughYork
York Haven Borough York