US ERA ARCHIVE DOCUMENT



OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR

RICK PERRY GOVERNOR

October 31, 2011

Al Armendariz, Ph.D. Regional Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 6 1445 Ross Avenue, Suite 1200 Dallas, Texas 75202-2733

Dear Dr. Armendariz:

Pursuant to the requirements in Section 107(d)(1)(A) of the Federal Clean Air Act, enclosed is a revised recommendation for designation of areas in Texas with regard to the 2008 National Ambient Air Quality Standard for eight-hour ozone of 0.075 parts per million.

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) developed the enclosed revision to the March 2009 Texas recommendation, considering the latest available, certified monitoring data for all areas in Texas from the 2008–2010 period. This revised recommendation reflects the improved air quality in Texas between 2005 and 2010. The commission understands that the United States Environmental Protection Agency plans to utilize the most recently certified three years (2008-2010) of monitoring data as the basis for designations.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please feel free to contact TCEQ Chairman Bryan Shaw at (512) 239-5510.

Sincerely,

Rick Perry Governor

RP:tbp

Enclosure

cc: Bryan W. Shaw, Ph.D.

KICK PERRY

State of Texas 2008 Eight-Hour Ozone Standard Revised Designation Recommendation

The following counties, listed by air quality planning area, should be designated nonattainment. All the rest of the counties in Texas should be designated attainment/unclassifiable.

Dallas-Fort Worth Area

Collin

Dallas

Denton

Ellis

Johnson

Kaufman

Parker

Rockwall

Tarrant

Houston-Galveston-Brazoria Area

Brazoria

Chambers

Fort Bend

Galveston

Harris

Liberty

Montgomery

Waller